Main content

Latest DTV

Welcome Adam

12:32am  Nov 25, 2017

Brothers head west

12:05am  Nov 25, 2017

Welcome Andrew

11:15pm  Nov 24, 2017

Draft wrap: Lloyd

10:38pm  Nov 24, 2017

Latest News

Hamish and Andy: Brayshaw bros head west

Andrew Brayshaw will join his brother in WA but for opposing sides

11:28pm  Nov 24, 2017

Draft pick 73 - Sam Switkowski

Sam Switkowski is a 21-year-old small forward from Box Hill Hawks

11:17pm  Nov 24, 2017

Freo adds skill, leadership at draft: Lloyd

Fremantle has welcomed a highly-skilled group that boasts considerable leadership potential, according to Brad Lloyd

6:12pm  Nov 24, 2017

When Waterhouse flew the Aussie flag

Tom Fee  November 7, 2017 4:17 PM

See some of the best highlights from Australia v Ireland in the International Rules Series.

In 2017, Nat Fyfe will continue a long tradition of Fremantle players featuring in the International Rules series, with 15 Fremantle players representing their country since the series was revamped in 1998.

Matthew Pavlich and Ryan Crowley lead the club with four caps each with Fyfe set to join them if he earns caps in Australia’s two clashes with Ireland on 12 November at Adelaide Oval and 18 November at Domain Stadium.

One of Freo’s most memorable moments at the International Rules has to come down to the club’s first Australian representative, Clive Waterhouse.

After kicking 42 goals in 1999, Waterhouse was rewarded with an Australian call-up.

In front of 64,326 fans at the MCG, Waterhouse starred with two overs and set up Nathan Buckley for another - however Australia were the narrow losers on the day, falling 0-15-17 (62) to Ireland’s 2-16-10 (70).

At Football Park in Adelaide, Waterhouse kicked an over as Australia and Ireland played out the first draw as Australia’s 2-12-4 (52) matched Ireland’s 1-11-13 (52).

Waterhouse recently said representing Australia was among the fondest memories in his career.

“I think the first derby win was a big thing as well as playing on the MCG and playing for Australia as well,” Waterhouse said.

“I got to play in front of a big crowd at the MCG that series which was quite exciting.”

Fremantle’s International Rules representatives
1999 – Clive Waterhouse
2002 – Matthew Pavlich
2003 – Peter Bell, Paul Hasleby, Matthew Pavlich, Matthew Carr
2004 – Robert Haddrill
2005 – Heath Black
2006 – Brett Peake, Ryan Crowley, David Mundy
2008 – Ryan Crowley, Roger Hayden
2010 – Paul Duffield, Garrick Ibbotson
2014 – Nat Fyfe
2015 – Hayden Ballantyne, David Mundy
2017 – Nat Fyfe