TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest DTV

First year reflection: Giro

9:33am  Sep 20, 2018

First year reflection: Switkowski

1:22pm  Sep 18, 2018

Top 5 Memorable moments

2:03pm  Sep 13, 2018

Season reflection: Duman

8:48am  Sep 13, 2018

Latest News

AFLW: Antonio a rising star on and off the field

Ebony Antonio has won the 2018 NECA Electrical and Communications Association (EMA) 2nd-year apprenticeship award with Programmed

1:52pm  Sep 20, 2018

Leaders set strong example for rookies

Stefan Giro says the leadership group inspired Freo’s first year players in 2018

11:30am  Sep 20, 2018

Patience pays off for debutant

Sam Switkowski learned a lot during his time on the sidelines

11:34am  Sep 18, 2018

Top 10 draftees set to break record

Dinny Navaratnam,  April 13, 2018 5:50 PM

Pick no.5 Adam Cerra with pick no.2 Andrew Brayshaw. - Fremantle,Fremantle Dockers,Andrew Brayshaw,Adam Cerra

Pick no.5 Adam Cerra with pick no.2 Andrew Brayshaw.

The top-10 of the 2017 NAB AFL Draft, which includes Fremantle's Andrew Brayshaw and Adam Cerra, will break a record on Saturday when Carlton midfielder Lochie O'Brien makes his debut against North Melbourne.

With O'Brien named to run out at Blundstone Arena, every selection from the top-10 will have made his debut by round four. 

It breaks the benchmark held by the class of 2011, set when Greater Western Sydney key forward Jonathon Patton played an AFL game for the first time in round 12, 2012, completing the set of top-10 draftees to debut.

What was remarkable about that milestone was it happened in the Giants' first season in the competition, when they had to call upon their young talent having picked eight of the top-10 the previous year. 

On only five occasions has all of a draft's top-10 made its debut the following season, with the class of 2010 being the first to achieve it. 

2017 draft class - debut round this year

1. Cameron Rayner, Brisbane, round one
2. Andrew Brayshaw, Fremantle round one
3. Paddy Dow, Carlton, round one
4. Luke Davies-Uniacke, North Melbourne, round one
5. Adam Cerra, Fremantle, round two
6. Jaidyn Stephenson, Collingwood, round one
7. Hunter Clark, St Kilda, round one
8. Nick Coffield, St Kilda, round three
9. Aaron Naughton, Western Bulldogs, round one
10. Lochie O'Brien, Carlton, round four*

*yet to play