Main content
United by Purple

Pavlich to lead Fremantle again in 2014

Captain Matthew Pavlich with new edition to the Leadership group, Lee Spurr.
Matthew Pavlich will captain Fremantle for an eighth season, while Lee Spurr has been added to the leadership group for the 2014 season.

Following an established voting process that the club has used to elect its leaders in the past two seasons, 26-year-old Spurr was chosen by his teammates to join Pavlich, Matt de Boer, Luke McPharlin, David Mundy and Aaron Sandilands in the club’s 2014 leadership group.

Pavlich has captained Freo on a club record 145 occasions since taking over from Peter Bell in 2007.

He said the honour of leading the club had not diminished in any way over the span of his reign.

“I’ve been privileged and honoured to be captain for quite some time now and I’m very pleased to have the opportunity to lead the team out there again,” he said.

“The vote of confidence from the broader playing group on my leadership was something that has spurred me on to go again and be fully committed to it.”

Spurr has enjoyed a meteoric rise since being selected as a mature-age recruit in the 2011 Rookie Draft. He has played 36 games, including five finals, and finished fifth in the 2013 Doig Medal.

Spurr locked down a back-pocket role in 2013, often playing on the opposition’s best small forward.

Pavlich endorsed the 2013 Best Clubman’s selection into the club’s leadership group.

“We are absolutely rapt for Lee, he has shown in his short tenure at the club that he has a real appetite for work and he upholds what we value very strongly within the club,” he said.

Senior coach Ross Lyon said Spurr had earned the opportunity.

“Lee’s actions, both on and off the field, have resulted in him being selected,” Lyon said.

“His peers clearly rate him highly and I’m sure he’ll represent them well.”

A large number of players received votes of confidence from the playing group, highlighting the club’s strong leadership program and continued growth among the squad. The final outcome of the voting process saw six distinct members form the final group.

Pavlich said 2013 members Hayden Ballantyne and Chris Mayne were among the group of players at Fremantle who received strong voting support from their teammates and would continue to contribute strongly to the playing group because of their leadership experience.

“That’s what we are all about, developing our playing list so there are many leaders among us, not just the players formally chosen into the leadership group,” he said.

“There were about 14 players who received votes and could have been selected this season, and that’s very pleasing.”

The Fremantle squad will come together at the Fly By Night Musicians Club on Thursday afternoon for the annual team photo shoot, where Pavlich will address the media for the first time in the 2014 season.