Main content
United by Purple

Freo’s 22 aged 22 and under

PERTH, AUSTRALIA - JULY 16: Connor Blakely of the Dockers in action during the 2017 AFL round 17 match between the Fremantle Dockers and the West Coast Eagles at Domain Stadium on July 16, 2017 in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Carson/AFL Media)
Connor Blakely could star in Freo's midfield or at half-back in the future.

In a rapid transition of their list, Fremantle has gone from having the third oldest list to the 10th in the space of a year. 

This has been done while still retaining the club’s most experienced players in Aaron Sandilands, Michael Johnson and David Mundy, who will all play a crucial role in passing on their experience to Freo’s emerging players. 

Turning 35 later this month, Aaron Sandilands will break the record as Freo’s oldest representative with any game played in 2018, passing Matthew Pavlich’s mark of 34 years and 241 days.

At the other end of the age spectrum, Fremantle has seen a significant injection of youth – so much so that the club could now field a side consisting of players aged 22 and under.

With 25 players on the list within that age range, there is also enough ‘depth’ at that age to name three players as an emergency.

Below is one example of how this team could shape up and there’s a strong chance many of these names will be playing roles similar to the below during the coming decade.


 Backs  Ryan Nyhuis Alex Pearce  Griffin Logue 
 Half Back  Connor Blakely Brennan Cox  Luke Ryan 
 Centre  Ethan Hughes Mitch Crowden  Darcy Tucker 
 Half Forward  Ed Langdon Cam McCarthy Adam Cerra 
 Forwards  Brady Grey Michael Apeness  Sam Switkowski 
 Ruck / Followers  Sean Darcy Andrew Brayshaw  Tom North
 Interchange from  Hugh Dixon (KPF) Taylin Duman (Def) Luke Strnadica (Ruck)
   Scott Jones (Ruck) Lloyd Meek (Ruck) Bailey Banfield (Mid)
   Stefan Giro (Mid)    

Drafted as a midfielder / forward, Adam Cerra also showed his ability to impact the scoreboard in his draft year

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs