Main content
United by Purple

W Awards preview

AFLW GOTY - Vote for Duffy and Sharp Ashlee Sharp and Sabreena duffy have both been nominated for the 2019 Coates Hire AFLW Goal of the Year!

Adelaide superstar Erin Phillips will go in as the favourite to win her second AFL Women's best and fairest award.

The Crows onballer returned to her best this year after injuries in 2018 restricted her output. Unfortunately, she ruptured the ACL in her left knee early in the second half of the Crows' Grand Final win over Carlton at Adelaide Oval on Sunday. She was later named best on ground.

Brisbane midfielder Ally Anderson also enjoyed a strong season and is considered a chance. Fremantle's Dana Hooker is a perennial vote-getter while teammate Kiara Bowers is also expected to poll well, especially late in the season, after a belated but welcome AFLW debut after overcoming knee injuries in 2017-18.

Phillips, who also won the AFLCA champion player of the year and the AFLW MVP award, is hot favourite for the competition's highest individual honour, which will be announced on Tuesday night at the W Awards in Melbourne.

North Melbourne's Jess Duffin is a chance of adding the AFLW award to her 2018 VFLW best and fairest, after an outstanding year as an intercept defender.

Carlton's Madison Prespakis is the hot favourite for the NAB AFLW Rising Star award, having featured in her team's best players every week. Greater Western Sydney's Alyce Parker and Fremantle's Sabreena Duffy (pictured above) should also be prominent in the voting.

The Virgin Australia AFLW All Australian team will also be announced on the night. Adelaide's Anne Hatchard could be in line for her first All Australian spot after a vastly improved season in the midfield, while intrigue surrounds Kangaroo Emma King, who impressed both in the ruck and up forward.

Geelong defender Meg McDonald and Adelaide forward Stevie-Lee Thompson also shape as first-time All Australians. Thompson will collect the leading goalkicker award after finishing the home and away matches with 13 goals.

The winners of the Coates Hire goal of the year and JLT mark of the year will also be announced at the W Awards, with Fremantle's Sabreena Duffy and Ashley Sharp both nominated for the goal of the year.

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs