Fremantle have received a boost to their forward and ruck stocks late in the season with Rory Lobb likely to return from a foot injury in approximately four weeks.

High performance manager Jason Weber said that Fremantle have received some positive news relating to the foot injury Lobb sustained in round 11 against Collingwood.

“Some great news on Rory. Our initial scans and clinical review indicated that stress was a key factor in his injury,” Weber said.

“A subsequent review with a specialist identified that is was in fact an impact injury.

“On that basis, we’ve been able to revise his program and get him moving, so we are looking at about four weeks.

“Clinically, at the moment he presents really well and he’s progressing really well through his program.” 

Fellow ruckman Aaron Sandilands is also moving closer to a return with the veteran training well at the club on Tuesday. 

“Aaron’s progressed back into team training,” Weber said.

“He’s also done some really strong training over the weekend in game simulations. He’s progressing strongly and he’s very positive on the next phase of his program.”

Weber said that young midfielder Adam Cerra would be available for selection after missing Freo’s round 13 win against Port Adelaide due to illness. 

“Adam was quite sick last week but he’s pulled up really well at training this morning, so we’ve got him available for match committee this week,” Weber said.

Weber said that first-year players Luke Valente (groin) and Sam Sturt (concussion) are also on the cusp of a return to football. 

“Luke’s moved along well, obviously a young man with an injury that he brought in from his underage games. He’s progressing well and we look forward to seeing him this week,” Weber said. 

“Sam obviously had the concussions a few weeks ago, a couple in succession. He’s trained exceptionally well over that period and again, hopefully, he’ll be available to play this week.”



Estimated duration

Sam Sturt



Luke Valente



Rory Lobb


4 weeks

Aaron Sandilands



Shane Kersten



Matt Taberner



Alex Pearce



Stefan Giro