Main content
United by Purple

Bentley nominated for Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award

PERTH, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 12: Kirby Bentley of the Dockers in action during the 2017 AFLW Round 02 match between the Fremantle Dockers and the Brisbane Lions at Fremantle Oval on February 12, 2017 in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Carson/AFL Media)
Fremantle’s Kirby Bentley is one of four finalists nominated for the 2017 Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award.

Fremantle’s Kirby Bentley is one of four finalists nominated for the 2017 Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award.

The Jim Stynes Award honours the former Melbourne champion who passed away in 2012, and will be presented to one of these four finalists at the 2017 Brownlow Medal Ceremony.

A co-captain and member of Fremantle’s AFLW leadership group, Bentley has been recognised for her work within the West Australian indigenous community, including her involvement with the Kirby Bentley Cup.

Since 2014, the Kirby Bentley Cup has promoted and seen significant participation growth in indigenous female football in WA.

Bentley is the award’s first female finalist, nominated alongside Jack Hombsch (Port Adelaide), Jordan Roughead (Western Bulldogs) and Nick Riewoldt (St Kilda).

AFL Chief Executive Officer Gillon McLachlan said the award highlighted Jim Stynes’ enduring legacy within the football fraternity.

“Jim Stynes’ contribution to the game and to the wider community continues to be remembered through the presentation of this award each year,” Mr McLachlan said. 

“We have been overwhelmed by the contribution of each of this year’s finalists and am so pleased that today’s players are able to keep Jim’s legacy alive through their extensive community work.

“Each finalist deserves to be recognised for their efforts with Jack receiving his second straight nomination, while Kirby, Jordan and Nick all work tirelessly for causes that are so deeply personal to them.”

Past winners include Geelong’s Jimmy Bartel (2016), Carlton’s Dennis Armfield (2015), West Coast Eagles’ Beau Waters (2014), Gold Coast Suns’ Zac Smith (2013) and Richmond’s Daniel Jackson (2012).

The winner will receive $20,000 from the AFL and $20,000 from the Jim Stynes Foundation to be donated to the charity or community program of their choice.

The Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award selection panel includes Samantha Ludbey-Stynes, AFL Commissioner Kim Williams, AFL General Manager of People Sarah Fair, 3AW broadcaster Neil Mitchell, Seven Network broadcaster Tim Watson, AFL Player’s Association representative Brent Hedley and AFL Ground Operations Manager Jennie Loughnan.

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs