Main content
United by Purple

Donnellan shares top votes

See the highlights as Fremantle defeated Melbourne. All the highlights from Freo's win against the Dees at Freo Oval.

Two of the AFLW's best midfielders have shared the highest number of votes in the 2018 Shadforth Financial Group AFLCA AFLW Champion Player of the Year award from Freo's five-point win againstMelbourne at Fremantle Oval.

Fremantle's Kara Donnellan and Demon Daisy Pearce earned nine votes each with senior coaches Michelle Cowan and Mick Stinear awarding votes on a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis.

Donnellan collected 17 disposals in her crucial midfield role, often going head to head with Pearce, who collected 24 disposals.

Defender Ebony Antonio earned four votes for her 11 disposal and one goal performance while fellow defender Evie Gooch earned three votes.

Donnellan and Antonio are currently tied for fourth in the overall voting with 13 votes, five behind Pearce who leads on 18.

Kara Donnellan (FREO) - 9 votes
Daisy Pearce (MEL) - 9 votes
Ebony Antonio (FREO) - 4 votes
Tegan Cunningham (MEL) - 4 votes
Evie Gooch (FREO) - 3 votes
Katherine Smith (MEL) - 1 vote

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs