Main content

Latest DTV

The groups on fire: Cox

10:36am  Dec 15, 2017

Ryan extends

10:42am  Dec 14, 2017

Always improving: Hill

8:46am  Dec 13, 2017

Brayshaw extends

9:59am  Dec 12, 2017

Latest News

Next Gen prospect’s glowing assessment of Freo leaders

It’s been a week to remember for Fremantle’s Next Generation Academy prospect Tom Medhat

5:49pm  Dec 15, 2017

Goal kicking a focus for Cox

Brennan Cox is learning from fellow forward Hayden Ballantyne to harness his potential in Freo’s forward line

3:47pm  Dec 15, 2017

O’Donnell elected as a WAFC commissioner

Former Fremantle board member Brian O’Donnell has been elected as a commissioner of the WA Football Commission

12:27pm  Dec 15, 2017

Freo Fans’ MVP mid-season update

Tom Fee  June 15, 2017 10:35 AM

AFL 2017 Round 07 - Fremantle v Essendon

2016 Doig Medallist Lachie Neale has been a fan-favourite in 2017.

There’s one clear leader at the halfway mark of the season in the Freo Fans' MVP voting, thanks to McDonald's®. 

2016 Freo Fans’ MVP winner Lachie Neale is once again leading the charge with 214 votes ahead of Fremantle captain Nat Fyfe who sits on 145 votes and new recruit Bradley Hill on 132.

According to’s mid-year review, Neale is also looking the goods as a back-to-back winner for the club's Doig Medal with Bradley Hill on his tail.

Let’s go through the round by round to see where we stand after 12 rounds of voting. 

Round 1 v Geelong at Domain Stadium
27 votes - Nat Fyfe
26 votes – Stephen Hill
13 votes – Lee Spurr
28 disposals (14 contested), six marks, six clearances and a goal saw Fyfe take a narrow lead over Stephen Hill after round one of the voting.

Round 2 v Port Adelaide at Adelaide Oval
31 votes – Lachie Neale
26 votes – Bradley Hill
21 votes – Nat Fyfe
On a tough day at Adelaide Oval, Neale racked up 34 touches and 11 clearances.

Round 3 v Western Bulldogs at Domain Stadium
25 votes – Nat Fyfe
21 votes – Stephen Hill
13 votes – David Mundy
Fyfe muscled Freo to an upset win over the Bulldogs with 18 contested possessions and seven clearances.

Round 4 v Melbourne at the MCG
31 votes – Lachie Neale
22 votes – David Mundy
19 votes – Nat Fyfe
With four goals and three goals respectively, Neale and Mundy led the fans' vote tally in Freo’s two-point win over Melbourne.

Round 5 v North Melbourne at Domain Stadium
16 votes – Stephen Hill
13 votes – Michael Johnson
13 votes – David Mundy
Stephen Hill provided Freo with plenty of run with his 26 disposals, heading the voting despite coming off in the final term with a hamstring injury.

Round 6 v West Coast at Domain Stadium
25 votes – Lachie Neale
19 votes – Connor Blakely
14 votes – Cam McCarthy
With 14 and 10 contested possessions respectively, Neale and Blakely led Freo’s voting against West Coast.

Round 7 v Essendon at Domain Stadium
32 votes – Bradley Hill
26 votes – Lachie Neale
18 votes – Matt Taberner
Bradley Hill ran away with the top votes against Essendon with 37 disposals and 16 marks, while Neale was again a strong contributor with 40 touches.

Round 8 v Richmond at the MCG
33 votes – Bradley Hill
31 votes – Michael Walters
9 votes – Lachie Neale
Bradley Hill provided plenty of run and Walters racked up 38 touches as the pair took home the bulk of the fans' vote in a thrilling win over Richmond.

Round 9 v Carlton at Domain Stadium
36 votes – Lachie Neale
27 votes – Michael Walters
19 votes – Connor Blakely
It was another vintage Neale performance with 37 touches (20 contested), eight clearances and a goal.

Round 10 v Adelaide at Adelaide Oval
43 votes – Lachie Weller
31 votes – Connor Blakely
11 votes – Darcy Tucker
Weller flew the flag against Adelaide with 30 disposals, seven rebound 50s and two goals and was rewarded with the top votes against the Crows.

Round 11 v Collingwood at Domain Stadium
31 votes – Connor Blakely
19 votes – Lachie Neale
15 votes – Nat Fyfe
Blakely earned top votes for the first time in 2017 with 26 disposals (13 contested) and six clearances.

Round 12 v Brisbane at the Gabba
32 votes – Lachie Neale
22 votes – Bradley Hill
14 votes – Michael Walters
For the fifth time in eight rounds, Neale led the fans' vote, picking up 32 touches and nine clearances.

The top 10 after round 12
214 votes – Lachie Neale
145 votes – Nat Fyfe
132 votes – Bradley Hill
116 votes - Connor Blakely
92 votes – Michael Walters
78 votes – David Mundy
72 votes – Lachie Weller
70 votes – Stephen Hill
34 votes – Cam McCarthy
34 votes – Aaron Sandilands
33 votes – Brady Grey
31 votes – Joel Hamling

How to vote
Following every Freo match played in 2017, fans have the chance to log in and place their 3-2-1 votes for who they think Freo’s most valuable player for that game was.

Just by registering and voting, fans will go into the draw for the chance to present the Freo Fans’ MVP award to the player with the most fan votes at the end of the season.

This fantastic major prize also includes two tickets to the 2017 Doig Medal Presentation Dinner in October plus accommodation for one night at Crown Perth.