Four Fremantle players have polled in the AFLCA coaches’ award voting for round three, with Kiara Bowers taking out a perfect 10 votes.

Bowers stuffed the stat sheet against Richmond with 28 disposals (17 contested), 428 metres gained, 16 tackles, nine clearances, nine score involvements, seven inside 50s and five intercepts.

The persistent Bowers also recorded the third most pressure acts in a single game in AFLW history with 33, trailing only behind Melbourne’s Karen Paxman and Jenna Bruton of North Melbourne who each had 34.

Bowers also tallied the third highest AFLW fantasy score on record with 152, behind only herself and Adelaide’s Ebony Marinoff who recorded 159 points in 2019.

With three games played in the 2022 NAB AFLW season, it’s no surprise that Bowers leads all-comers with the most tackles (average of 14 per game), clearances (average of 8.3 per game) and kicks (average of 18 per game) across the competition.

The AFL Coaches Association AFLW Champion Player of the Year is an award voted by the AFLW senior coaches on a 5,4,3,2,1 basis after each home and away game, acknowledging outstanding effort to an individual player in a season.

Fremantle skipper Hayley Miller led from the front once again to pick up seven coaches votes for her 14 disposal and one goal performance that sparked Freo’s engine room all day.

Forward-turned-midfielder Gabby O’Sullivan was again influential through the middle of the ground, with 14 disposals, eight tackles and five clearances to her name.

Finally earning three votes, forward Gemma Houghton provided supply up forward kicking two goals to go along with 12 disposals, three marks and four tackles. 

Votes v Richmond
10 Kiara Bowers
7 Hayley Miller
6 Monique Conti
4 Gabby O’Sullivan
3 Gemma Houghton

06:03 Mins
Published on

AFLW Match Highlights: Round 3 v Richmond

Watch all the best moments from a fiery match between Fremantle and Richmond in their first-ever AFLW clash.

Published on