Who we are

Established in 1994, the Fremantle Football Club is a professional club competing in the Australian Football League.

Nicknamed the ‘Freo Dockers’, the Club proudly fields a men’s team coached by Justin Longmuir, captained by Alex Pearce and plays at the 60,000 seat Optus Stadium in Perth, WA.

Fremantle have also featured a team in the AFL Women’s league since the competition began in 2017. Coached by Lisa Webb and captained by Hayley Miller, the women play at the home of football in Fremantle at Fremantle Oval.

Distinguished players in the club’s history include six-time All-Australian and captain for nine years Matthew Pavlich, games record holder David Mundy, 271-gamer and former ruckman Aaron Sandilands and Nat Fyfe, a dual-Brownlow medal winner and three-time Doig Medallist. The men’s team made Club history in 2013, playing in the Grand Final match against Hawthorn.

Kiara Bowers has undoubtedly been the star of Fremantle’s AFLW team, winning three Fairest and Best medals as well as the league Best and Fairest in 2021.

Following the 2021 season, the Club released an ambitious Strategic Plan that targets winning its first AFL and AFLW premierships by 2025.