Nat Fyfe won his third Doig Medal with a clear victory at the Doig Medal Presentation Dinner at the Crown Ballroom on Saturday night.

The star midfielder polled 272 votes, ahead of runner-up Michael Walters (238) and third-placed Bradley Hill (207).

David Mundy finished fourth with 186 votes, his eighth top-five placing and 12th consecutive top-10 finish. 

Ed Langdon finished fifth with 155 votes, while Luke Ryan, Joel Hamling, Rory Lobb, Andrew Brayshaw and Darcy Tucker rounded out the top 10.

It was Fyfe’s first Doig Medal win since he went back-to-back in 2013 and 2014, joining Peter Bell as a three-time winner of the award. 

Only Matthew Pavlich has won more Doig Medals than Fyfe and Bell, with six.

Fyfe’s Doig Medal win adds another accolade to an outstanding season for the Fremantle captain, who won his second Brownlow Medal and was named All Australian captain in 2019.

He was also recognised on the night by his teammates as the winner of the Players’ Award, as the player who best displayed the values set by the group at the start of the season. 

Fyfe was already regarded as one of the modern-day greats heading into this season, and 2019 was arguably his best season yet.

He improved on all of his key stats from 2018 to 2019 and recorded a career-high average of 29.2 disposals per game.

Walters’ runner-up finish is his highest placing at the Doig Medal. He was the only player to be awarded a maximum 25 out of a possible 25 votes in a single game for his six-goal and 25-disposal performance against Port Adelaide in round 13.

The versatile small forward/midfielder was also inducted as a Life Member on the night after reaching his 150 game milestone in round 22.

Small forward Sam Switkowski won the Beacon Award as Fremantle’s most promising young player, polling the most Doig Medal votes from eligible players.

The Beacon Award uses a similar eligibility criteria as the NAB AFL Rising Star Award. Players need to be in their first or second season at the start the year with under 10 games played, however there is no restriction on age.

Retiring Fremantle legend Aaron Sandilands won his third Best Clubman award, recognised as the player who consistently put the needs of the club first. 

The Best Clubman is voted on by various departments, including football, events, community and media to acknowledge players that go above and beyond across all areas. 

Former Fremantle president Steve Harris was also inducted as a Life Member for his outstanding contribution to the club, which included seven years as president.

Walters and Harris became the 27th and 28th inductees as Life Members at Fremantle.

Gary Ingraham became the seventh recipient of the Con Regan Medal. Ingraham provided boxing and fitness work to the club’s AFL and AFLW high performance programs since 1998.

Recipients of the Con Regan Medal are considered outstanding individuals, whose contributions to the club demonstrate leadership and vision widely acknowledged in the greater football community.

To acknowledge the club’s 25th year, Fremantle also recognised those who have provided outstanding service to the club for many years in a part time, casual, volunteer or honorarium capacity.

  • Gary Antulov for services to the football department
  • Ben Marks for services to the football and recruiting department
  • Ivo Capelinha for services to the football department
  • John Nykyforak for services to the recruiting department
  • Rod Yin for services to the football department
  • Colin Ciantar for services to the football department.
  • June MacDonald for services to the club and the Harbour Master Committee.
  • Maria Giglia for services to the club and the WA Banner Team
  • Keith Carmody for services to the football department

Doig Medal top 10

Nat Fyfe – 272

Michael Walters – 238

Bradley Hill – 207

David Mundy – 186

Ed Langdon - 155

Luke Ryan – 139

Joel Hamling – 125

Rory Lobb – 120

Andrew Brayshaw – 109

Darcy Tucker – 108

GALLERY: See all the photos from the purple carpet