Fremantle have made a significant step in locking in their core group for the 2020 AFLW season with the entire of Fremantle’s 2019 leadership committing to the club for next season.

Captain Kara Donnellan has re-signed alongside 2019 Fairest and Best winner Kiara Bowers, 2018 Fairest and Best winner Ebony Antonio, Gabby O’Sullivan and Evie Gooch. 

Donnellan said she was delighted to see Fremantle’s leaders re-sign with Freo.

“As a group, we’re absolutely excited and pumped,” Donnellan said.

“We think it was really important to make a stand as leaders, the five of us, to the rest of the footy community and the rest of the club to let everyone know that we’re here for the long haul and we’re ready to build on what we started this season.”

Think you have what it takes to play AFLW? Nominate for Freo's 2020 Rookie Search

With the competition expanding to 14 teams in 2020, Donnellan said that the focus for Fremantle was to continue to lock-in players for 2020 so the club can build on their achievements in 2019, where the club made its maiden finals appearance.

“We had a really great season but we’re ready to go again, we’re really hungry, we know what it feels like to lose that prelim and we don’t want to feel that again,” Donnellan said.

“I feel we’ve built something really strong this season. We brought in 11 new players that have brought just so much energy, they’re all individual characters that bring their own strengths to the group.

“I’m really hopeful that we’ll keep a lot of those girls around so we can continue to build on what we’ve started and we’ll be looking to hit the ground running for pre-season in November.”