Fremantle midfielder Hayley Miller has taken home the inaugural WAFL Women’s Dhara Kerr Fairest and Best Award at Optus Stadium on Monday night.

Miller adds to the WA Women’s Football League Award she won outright in 2018, by continuing her strong form in the WAFLW State League competition in 2019.

The Subiaco captain polled votes in seven of the nine games she played, including one 3-vote game and four 2-vote games, to finish with 13 votes overall.

Miller shared the fairest and best honours with her Subiaco vice-captain Danika Pisconeri.

Fremantle defender Evie Gooch (6th) and forward/midfielder Ashley Sharp (8th) both finished in the top ten of the Dhara Kerr award.

The winners list continued for Freo with Lindal Rohde taking home the Cath Boyce Rookie of the Year award.

Rohde picked up the honour after showcasing her athleticism and endurance on the wing for Subiaco, which saw her recruited as an AFLW Rookie by Fremantle earlier this year.

Rohde shared the award with Jessica Low of Claremont.

The Coach of the Year award, presented by the Fremantle Football Club, was taken out by Claremont WAFLW coach Andrew Di Loreto in his second season in charge of the Tigers’ senior women’s side.

The tradition of the Dhara Kerr Award has been continued in the WAFLW State League competition this year after previously being presented to the fairest and best player in the WA Women’s Football League.

The WAFLW Awards were presented in partnership with the WA Women’s Football League, which also saw awards presented on the night for the women’s Reserves and U18 Rogers Cup competitions.


Name Club Votes

Hayley Miller Subiaco 13 (Fremantle)

Danika Pisconeri Subiaco 13

Kimberley Bowey East Fremantle 12

Roxanne Roux East Fremantle 10

Emily Bonser Claremont 9

Evangeline Gooch East Fremantle 9 (Fremantle)

Beatrice Devlyn Subiaco 8

Ashley Sharp Swan Districts 6 (Fremantle)

Courtney Stubbs Subiaco 6

Brooke Whyte Claremont 6


WAFLW Joanne Huggins Leading Goal Kicker Award – Tarnee Tester (Subiaco)

WAFLW Cath Boyce Rookie of the Year Award – Jessica Low (Claremont) and Lindal Rohde (Subiaco)

Coach of the Year, presented by Fremantle Football Club - Andrew Di Loreto (Claremont)

Lynette Smith Volunteer of the Year Award – Joanne Taylor (Swan Districts)

AFL Merit Award – Carolyn Hills (WA Women’s Football League)

Rogers Cup Fairest and Best – Kia Buckley (Subiaco)

Rogers Cup Leading Goal Kicker – Shani Garrod (Peel Thunder)

Rogers Cup Rising Star – Amy Franklin (West Perth)

Reserves Fairest and Best – Lauren Vecchio (South Fremantle)

Reserves Leading Goal Kicker – Kira Phillips (Peel Thunder)

Reserves Rising Star – Ashlee Hardisty (Claremont)