Fremantle star Kiara Bowers has stretched her lead in the AFL Coaches Association AFLW Champion Player of the Year award.

Bowers was once again one of the best on ground in Fremantle's 11-point loss to Brisbane at Fremantle Oval, registering seven votes.

She racked up a career-high 24 disposals in the midfield while laying eight tackles and taking six marks.

Starting the round with a one-vote advantage, the midfielder now leads by six votes on 43 ahead of the Bulldogs' Ellie Blackburn (37) and Collingwood's Brianna Davey (36) and Brittany Bonnini (35).

Defender Matilda Sergeant was the only other Fremantle player on the vote sheet with one vote.

Sergeant was tasked with limiting the impact of Brisbane star forward Dakota Davidson, who went into the game as the AFLW's equal-top goalkicker.

Davidson went scoreless for the game and had just five disposals.

10 - Emily Bates (BRI)
7 - Kiara Bowers (FREO)
7 - Kate Lutkins (BRI)
2 - Orla O'Dwyer (BRI)
2 - Ally Anderson (BRI)
1 - Matilda Sergeant (FREO)
1 - Greta Bodey (BRI)

03:39 Mins
Published on

AFLW | Match Highlights | Rd 5 V Brisbane

The Fremantle Dockers and the Lions clashed in round five of the NAB AFL Women's competition.

Published on