Main content
United by Purple

Hill picked first for AFLX

Introducing Harry and Cooper Hill Meet Bradley Hill's furry friends, Harry and Cooper.

Fremantle’s Bradley Hill was taken with the first pick from a star-studded pool of players in the 2019 AFLX Draft announced on Wednesday.

The draft was conducted between the four AFLX captains, including Fremantle’s Nat Fyfe who leads the Flyers, Eddie Betts of the Deadlys, Patrick Dangerfield of the Bolts and Jack Riewoldt of the Rampage.

Betts won the draw for the first pick and selected Hill for his all-Indigenous team. 

Joel Hamling was the other Fremantle player selected, also for the Deadlys, at pick no.33.

Each captain drafted 12 players to join themselves and their pre-selected vice captains in their 14-player team.

The round-robin tournament will be held at Marvel Stadium on Friday February 22.

The full teams
FLYERS: Nat Fyfe (captain), Marcus Bontempelli (vice-captain), Scott Pendlebury, Alex Rance, Jeremy Cameron, Isaac Heeney, Stephen Coniglio, Rory Laird, Travis Boak, Lachie Hunter, Aliir Aliir, Michael Hurley, Josh P. Kennedy, Jack Higgins.

BOLTS: Patrick Dangerfield (captain), Luke Hodge (vice-captain), Tom Hawkins, Steele Sidebottom, Mark Blicavs, Robbie Gray, Andrew Gaff, Luke Parker, Jaidyn Stephenson, Andrew McGrath, Jack Billings, Daniel Rich, Robbie Tarrant, Jack Steele.

DEADLY: Eddie Betts (captain), Shaun Burgoyne (vice-captain), Bradley Hill, Jarrod Harbrow, Tim Kelly, Chad Wingard, Travis Varcoe, Steven May, Lewis Jetta, Anthony McDonald- Tipungwuti, Joel Hamling, Willie Rioli, Sam Powell-Pepper, Cameron Ellis-Yolmen.

RAMPAGE: Jack Riewoldt (captain), Patrick Cripps (vice-captain), Lachie Whitfield, Rory Sloane, Phil Davis, Dayne Zorko, Isaac Smith, Luke Breust, Easton Wood, Tom McDonald, Dylan Shiel, Shaun Higgins, Tim Membrey, Zac Fisher.

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs