The remaining two rounds of the 2020 NAB AFLW season have been scrapped as a response to the COVID-19 crisis, with finals to be played this weekend.

AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan confirmed the move on Wednesday night, saying a full fixture will be released on Thursday morning.

This sees an extension of the number of clubs moving through to the finals from the planned six to eight, due to the reduced Home and Away Season.

The clubs involved in the AFLW finals series are based on the top four finishing positions of each Conference (A&B) at the conclusion of Round 6 of the Home and Away season.

2020 NAB AFL Women’s Finals Series Club Qualifiers;

Conference A Top 4
North Melbourne Tasmanian Kangaroos
GWS Giants
Brisbane Lions
Gold Coast Suns

Conference B Top 4

Full fixturing details of the NAB AFL Women’s Final Series will be announced on Thursday 19th of March.

Head of Women's Football Nicole Livingstone said the league was excited about the three-week series.

"We would like to acknowledge and pay tribute to all 14 clubs and players in our competition, who have worked incredibly hard across the season. They should be extremely proud of what they have achieved.

"Particularly to the clubs that will be concluding their 2020 season; Adelaide Crows, Geelong, Western Bulldogs, and new comers West Coast Eagles, St Kilda and Richmond, thank you for your care and commitment to AFLW, your programs and your players.

"We look forward to the next three weeks of finals, and wish all eight teams the best of luck."