Two Fremantle players have earned coaches' votes for round one in the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year award.

Rory Lobb picked up eight votes after showing his dominance both in the air and in front of goal against Essendon.

Collecting 15 disposals and seven marks, Lobb proved his versatility all day moving between the ruck and forward line, as well as pushing up the ground to give his teammates a tall target to kick to.

He also kicked two goals which both came at crucial times, the first breaking a four-goal to none drought in the opening term and the second spurring a late charge in the final term, which ultimately saw Freo come short by just six-points

Michael Walters also received two votes after picking up 21 disposals and a goal as he rotated between the midfield and forward line.

Votes v Essendon
10 - Dylan Shiel (ESS)
8 - Rory Lobb (FRE)
4 - Jacob Townsend (ESS)
4 - Adam Saad (ESS)
2 - Andrew McGrath (ESS)
2 - Michael Walters (FRE)