After a stellar 2020 season, four Fremantle players have been selected in the AFL Women’s All-Australian 40-person squad. 

Kiara Bowers, Sabreena Duffy, Ebony Antonio and Gemma Houghton have all been named.

A final team of 21 players including a captain and vice-captain, will be announced at the W Awards to be held later in the year.

00:52 Mins
Published on

AFLW | All-Australian Squad honours

Fremantle's Gemma Houghton, Ebony Antonio, Sabreena Duffy and Kiara Bowers have all been selected in the 2020 AFL Women's All-Australian Squad.

Published on

Bowers picks up her second squad selection in as many years after missing the inaugural two seasons of the AFL Women’s competition through injury.

Kiara Bowers celebrates after Fremantle's semi final win over the Gold Coast Suns

Bowers picked up her first All-Australian jacket last year, named amongst the best in the midfield for the 2019 season.

In a surprise to no one, Bowers led the competition in tackles in 2020 with 99, a whopping 48 tackles clear of Freo’s Katie-Jayne Grieve in second spot with 51 tackles.

The selection is Antonio’s fourth in total, after now earning her place in the squad every season since the inception of the competition in 2017.

Antonio was named at half-back once in the All-Australian team in 2018.

Duffy and Houghton also pick up their second squad selection each, while Houghton also made last year’s All-Australian team at full forward.

Duffy topped the goal kicking tally across the league, with 12 goals to her name in 2020, including four goal performances against Geelong and Brisbane.

Houghton led the competition in score involvements with 34, and finished in the top four for contested marks in 2020. 

Sabreena Duffy and Gemma Houghton celebrate a goal in round one of season 2020.

2020 AFL Women’s All-Australian Squad
Adelaide Crows
Sarah Allan
Anne Hatchard
Ebony Marinoff
Brisbane Lions 
Kate Lutkins
Emily Bates
Jesse Wardlaw
Sophie Conway
Kerryn Harrington
Maddie Prespakis
Tayla Harris
Georgia Gee

Sharni Layton
Jaimee Lambert
Stacey Livingstone
Britt Bonnici
Brianna Davey

Kiara Bowers
Gemma Houghton
Sabreena Duffy
Ebony Antonio
Geelong Cats
Olivia Purcell
GWS Giants
Alyce Parker
Elle Bennetts
Gold Coast SUNS
Jamie Stanton
Kalinda Howarth
Jade Pregelj
Karen Paxman
Libby Birch
Daisy Pearce
Kate Hore
North Melbourne
Emma Kearney
Jasmine Garner
Ash Riddell
Jenna Bruton
Monique Conti
St Kilda
Georgia Patrikios
Caitlyn Greiser
West Coast Eagles
Dana Hooker
Western Bulldogs 
Ellie Blackburn
Isabelle Huntington
The 2020 AFL Women’s All-Australian Squad was selected by a panel, comprising the following:

  • Nicole Livingstone (Chair, AFL)
  • Steve Hocking (AFL)
  • Josh Vanderloo (AFL)
  • Kelli Underwood (Fox Footy)
  • Sarah Black (
  • Tim Harrington (AFLPA)
  • Shelley Ware (media commentator)
  • Sharelle McMahon (media commentator)