The AFL Players association have revealed the three Fremantle players who will be in the running for the Leigh Matthews Trophy as the AFL’s Most Valuable Player, as well as the game’s most courageous and best first year player. 

Nat Fyfe, who won the MVP award in 2014 and 2015, has been nominated once again by his teammates alongside first-time nominees Luke Ryan and Matthew Taberner.

CAIRNS, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 07: Ethan Hughes of the Dockers hits Jack Viney of the Demons during the round 16 AFL match between the Melbourne Demons and the Fremantle Dockers at Cazaly's Stadium on September 07, 2020 in Cairns, Australia. (Photo by Albert Perez/Getty Images via AFL Photos)

Ethan Hughes has been nominated as Fremantle’s ‘most courageous’ for the second year running while Caleb Serong has been nominated as the best first year player.

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner.

Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.