Fremantle departed for the Gold Coast on Wednesday morning ahead of an 11-day stint on the road.

The AFL confirmed on Tuesday that Sunday's round eight fixture against Brisbane will move from Optus Stadium to the Gabba, with Freo to be the host club when the two sides meet again in round 21.

The Club will remain in Queensland before flying to Victoria for the round 9 clash against Essendon, and will then return to Perth for the round 10 fixture against Sydney at Optus Stadium.

The decision comes as the WA State Government continues to manage and monitor the presence of COVID-19 in the Perth and Peel regions.

The following 30 players make up the travelling squad to the Gold Coast:

Blake Acres
James Aish
Connor Blakely
Andy Brayshaw
Adam Cerra
Reece Conca
Travis Colyer
Brennan Cox
Mitch Crowden
Sean Darcy
Taylin Duman
Michael Frederick
Nat Fyfe
Stefan Giro
Liam Henry
Rory Lobb
Griffin Logue
Lloyd Meek 
David Mundy
Alex Pearce
Luke Ryan
Lachie Schultz
Caleb Serong
Sam Switkowski
Matt Taberner
Darcy Tucker
Michael Walters
Tobe Watson
Joel Western
Nathan Wilson

13 Fremantle players will remain in Perth to either continue rehabilitation of injuries or play with Peel in the WAFL competition.

Sam Sturt, Ethan Hughes, Joel Hamling, Leno Thomas, Hayden Young, Heath Chapman, Luke Valente, Nathan O'Driscoll, Brandon Walker, Stephen Hill, Brett Bewley, Josh Treacy and Bailey Banfield will remain in WA.

Players remaining in Perth will have the opportunity to build some continuity through Peel's fixture this weekend against Perth.