The Fremantle Dockers have confirmed the first changes to the club’s playing list following the 2017 season. 

The list update takes into account the retirements of Garrick Ibbotson and Zac Dawson, while senior listed players Zac Clarke, Jon Griffin and Sam Collins and rookies Josh Deluca and Matthew Uebergang have been advised that their contracts would not be extended for the 2018 season.

Clarke missed the entire 2017 season with a knee injury after playing 101 games for Fremantle from 2009 to 2016 and also was a part of Peel’s first premiership side in 2016.

Fellow ruckman Jon Griffin makes way after 56 games for Fremantle and 97 AFL games in total. Griffin signed for Fremantle from Adelaide ahead of the 2011 season and the 31-year-old featured in seven games for Fremantle in 2017.

Griffin was voted by teammates and staff as the Best Clubman in 2015, while he also played a crucial role in the development of Fremantle’s younger players - playing 52 games for Peel from 2014 to 2017 including a role in their 2016 premiership side.

Collins played 14 games for Fremantle including two in 2017. The key defender contributed significantly to both of Peel’s premiership seasons in 2016 and 2017, playing 34 games for the Thunder in the past two seasons.

Deluca also played in the Thunder’s back-to-back flags and made his Freo debut in 2017, playing four games for the season.

Uebergang departs after two years on Fremantle’s rookie list. The forward last played at WAFL level in round 13 of the 2016 season, missing more than a year of football due to a serious hamstring injury.

General manager of football operations Chris Bond thanked the players for their contribution to the club during their time at Fremantle.

“We thank all of the players for their contribution to the club,” Bond said.

“Both Garrick and Zac Clarke played more than 100 games for Fremantle, with Garrick achieving life membership in 2015.

“Zac (Dawson) and Jon came to Fremantle as experienced players from St Kilda and Adelaide respectively and both made invaluable contributions with more than 50 games of service at Fremantle.”

Bond highlighted the great attitudes displayed by Fremantle’s younger players.

“The commitment and professionalism shown by Josh, Sam and Matthew throughout their time at Fremantle has been valuable,” Bond said.

“Josh and Sam will also be remembered for their efforts with WAFL partner Peel Thunder, playing key roles in their back-to-back premiership wins.”

Retirees Ibbotson and Dawson will be acknowledged for their service to Fremantle at the Doig Medal Presentation Dinner on Saturday night at Crown Perth’s Grand Ballroom.

Any further updates to the club’s list will be advised following the AFL Trade Period and prior to the AFL’s List Lodgement (1) on Tuesday, 31 October. 

List update as of 6 October
Zac Dawson (retired)
Garrick Ibbotson (retired)
Sam Collins (delisted)
Zac Clarke (delisted)
Josh Deluca (delisted)
Jon Griffin (delisted)
Matthew Uebergang (delisted)