Five Fremantle players have received votes from round six in the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year award. 

After polling a perfect 10 coaches’ votes last week, young gun Andrew Brayshaw once again topped the votes after producing another strong performance in the midfield.

Brayshaw had a slow start to the game with just seven touches at half time, but he soon came alive as things started to heat up in the second half to finish the game with 20 disposals, five tackles and two clearances. 

One of the most important moments from Brayshaw came halfway through the third quarter when scores where all tied up. Saints midfielder Seb Ross was streaming off half back and looking to move the ball forward but was stopped dead in his tracks from a desperate run-down tackle, earning a crucial turnover in Freo’s favour. 

Michael Walters polled eight votes for his performance, finishing a big day in the midfield with 26 disposals, six inside 50’s and a whopping eight clearances. 

With skipper Nat Fyfe spending most of the second half in the forward line, Walters and Brayshaw were a powerhouse duo in the middle and played a key part in slowing St Kilda’s momentum after quarter time. 

Rory Lobb (2), Matt Taberner (2) and Stephen Hill (1) were among Freo’s other vote-getters, though there were arguably a handful of other players who could’ve polled in the votes after such a strong team performance. 

9 - Andrew Brayshaw 
8 - Michael Walters 
4 - Tim Membrey 
3 - Jade Gresham 
2 - Rory Lobb 
2 - Matt Taberner
1 - Stephen Hill
1 - Jack Steele

01:27 Mins
Published on

Who impressed you? | Round 6 v St Kilda

The boys tell us who impressed them in today's win against the Saints.

Published on