Main content
United by Purple

Donnellan tops Freo’s votes

See the highlights from Saturday's clash with Brisbane. The Lions and Freo clash in Round 4 of the AFLW
Kara Donnellan earned five votes on Saturday. - Fremantle,Fremantle Dockers,Kara Donnellan
Kara Donnellan earned five votes on Saturday.

Midfielder Kara Donnellan topped the Fremantle vote-getters in the 2018 Shadforth AFLCA Champion Player of the Year award from Saturday’s NAB AFL Women’s clash with Brisbane at South Pine Sports Complex.

The Fremantle captain collected 15 disposals and laid 10 tackles in another strong performance that increased her total votes tally to 18 from four games.

Donnellan currently sits in a tie for fifth in the overall standings, eight votes behind Adelaide’s Chelsea Randall.

2017 fairest and best winner Dana Hooker earned two votes for the day, with the votes allocated on a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis from senior coaches Michelle Cowan and Brisbane’s Craig Starcevich.

Brisbane’s Kate Lutkins earned a maximum 10 votes from a possible 10 for her 18-disposal effort.

Kate Lutkins (BRI) – 10 votes
Jess Wuetschner (BRI) – 7 votes
Kara Donnellan (FREO) – 5 votes
Jamie Stanton (BRI) – 3 votes
Dana Hooker (FREO) – 2 votes
Tahlia Randall (BRI) – 2 votes
Ally Anderson (BRI) – 1 vote

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs