Griffin Logue set a Club intercept record against Gold Coast on Sunday, earning the defender coaches’ votes for the third time this season in the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year award.

His 17 intercepts topped the previous Club record of 16 shared by Garrick Ibbotson and Luke Ryan (twice), with Logue awarded three votes by the coaches for his efforts.

The key back also notched a career-high 29 disposals, six intercept marks and 110 AFL Fantasy points.

It is the third time Logue has featured in the votes across his six games so far this season, earning three votes against both GWS (round four) and Geelong (round seven).

Shop the full 2022 Indigenous Range

Get your hands on the Michael Walters and Peter Farmer Junior designed Indigenous jumper, plus the full 2022 Indigenous range.


Former Sun Will Brodie was Freo’s second highest ball-winner on the ground behind Logue, finishing with 27 disposals, eight tackles and eight clearances.

Brodie also had six inside 50s, and four score involvements off 76 per cent game time.

This is Brodie’s fourth time in the votes in 2022, earning the perfect 10 against GWS (round four), four votes against Essendon (round five) and seven votes against North Melbourne (round seven).

Gold Coast took the lion’s share of the votes, with Touk Miller (nine votes) and Mabior Chol (eight votes) on top.

Midfielder Andrew Brayshaw currently sits fourth overall on the AFLCA leaderboard on 47 votes behind Patrick Cripps (53), Clayton Oliver (51) and Lachie Neale (49). 

9 – Touk Miller (SUNS)
8 – Mabior Chol (SUNS)
4 – Jarrod Witts (SUNS
3 – Griffin Logue (FREO)
2 – Izak Rankine (SUNS)
2 – Sam Collins (SUNS)
1 – Will Brodie (FREO)
1 – Matt Rowell (SUNS)