Luke Ryan has added another accolade from an outstanding season, winning the 2020 Doig Medal at the Doig Medal Presentation Dinner on Thursday night at Crown Perth.

Ryan finished the count with 207 votes ahead of three-time Doig Medallist Nat Fyfe on 167 votes.

The 24-year-old played every game and led the AFL for rebound 50s. He also led Fremantle for intercept marks and metres gained, and ranked second for disposals, kicking efficiency and spoils.

His first Doig Medal win goes with his maiden All Australian jacket as well as winning the Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal as the best on ground against Sydney in Sir Doug Nicholls Round.

PERTH, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 22: Luke Ryan of the Dockers poses with the Goodes-O'Loughlin Medal for best on ground the 2020 AFL Round 13 match between the Fremantle Dockers and the Sydney Swans at Optus Stadium on August 22, 2020 in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Will Russell/AFL Photos)

There was a nailbiting finish for third place, with midfielders Adam Cerra, Andrew Brayshaw and David Mundy all tied on 150 votes.

Fremantle’s tiebreaker rules uses games polled to determine the final order when players are equal on votes.

Cerra was awarded third place based on polling in 17 of a possible 17 games. Andrew Brayshaw was fourth for polling in 16 games and David Mundy was fifth for polling in 14 games.

It was the 10th time in the past 12 seasons that Mundy has finished in the top five in the Doig Medal count. 

Young midfielder Caleb Serong was also acknowledged for a stellar debut season with the Beacon Award and was presented with his NAB AFL Rising Star medal on the evening by former winner Paul Hasleby.

04:50 Mins
Published on

2020 Doig Medal | Winner

Congratulations to the 2020 Doig Medallist for an outstanding season.

Published on

Ryan wasn’t the only defender to be acknowledged on the night, with Ethan Hughes taking out the Players’ Trademark Award and Alex Pearce winning Best Clubman.

Two former Fremantle defenders were also acknowledged with Life Membership in Dale Kickett and Roger Hayden.

Hayden has just completed his 20th year at Fremantle after 10 seasons as a player - playing 128 games - and 10 years as a development coach. 

Kickett was one of Fremantle’s most important players in the club’s formative years, playing 135 games between 1995 and 2002.

On the night, Ryan became the first defender since Kickett to win a Doig Medal, with Kickett winning the award in 1997 and finishing runner-up in 1995 and 1996.

In other awards announced on the evening, John Nykyforak was awarded the Con Regan Medal for his extraordinary contribution to Fremantle, completing 25 consecutive years at Fremantle as a recruiter.

Recipients of the Con Regan Medal are considered outstanding individuals, whose contributions to the club demonstrate leadership and vision widely acknowledged in the greater football community.

Fremantle also recognised those who have provided outstanding service to the club for many years in a part time, casual, volunteer or honorarium capacity.

  • Diane Meakins for her services to the club and the Sirens
  • Eugene D’Orsogna for his services to the club and the Harbour Masters
  • John Garland for his services to the club and the AJ Diamond Club
  • John Prior for his services to the football department
  • Chantelle Dawkins for her services to the club and the Fremantle Derby Club

Luke Ryan – 207
Nat Fyfe – 167
Adam Cerra – 150
Andrew Brayshaw – 150
David Mundy – 150
Matt Taberner – 125
Ethan Hughes – 124
Michael Walters – 120
Caleb Serong – 103
James Aish – 94